School dresses


When my husband asks tonight why we are having leftovers for dinner AGAIN, I’ll have to show him this dress.  I spent the bulk of the day cutting out and sewing G’s last school dress.  Our county has somewhere between a dress code and a uniform policy.  Any color is allowed as long as it is solid.  Blouses must have collars.  Dresses that aren’t jumpers must have sleeves.  And, the expected modesty rules apply.  This item was the last on my “to do” list that I started working down in June.

DSC_0018I made the Oliver + s jumprope dress in View B but with short sleeves in a size 6.  The only change I made was to use a deeper hem.  I used Kaufman Interweave Chambray in Strawberry.  The “interweave” appears to be a new line of fabric for them.  It seems very similar if not the same as their Carolina Chambray I’ve always loved in the past.  But, it looks to come in dozens of great colors.

DSC_0016

I used my last five heart shaped shell buttons.  Truth be told…I’m not a fan of hearts.  But they are a favorite of my girl and seemed perfectly suited to a red dress.  The jumprope collar gives me fits.  I always end up adding bar tacks at the corners for strength and am never quite happy with my topstitching.  The other qualities of the pattern always make my dissatisfaction easy to overlook, though.  What is your favorite?  The pockets, perfect placket, or button tabs?

DSC_0017

Since their uniform policy allows for “manufacturers logos” I made a little snail tag from yesterday’s liberty scraps.  G said, “Why did you put a snail tag?”  My answer to her was, “Because, it made me happy.”  She said, “I think it will make me happy too.”

DSC_0018

So, there you have it….modeled and with room to grow.DSC_0014

She says she likes it!DSC_0016

And, you can always count on Oliver + S for a well drafted pattern with perfect proportions!

While I had her in a rare cooperative moment…I got her to slip on the two other dresses I have made for her school wardrobe.DSC_0031A view A jumprope in lilac oxford.
DSC_0033

It is my personal favorite.  Though, I’m nervous about her being able to make it all day without getting in trouble for playing with the belt.
DSC_0020

I also made a short sleeve version of the Oliver + S book report in orange mystery chambray/oxford.  She says this one is her favorite.
DSC_0025

School starts on Monday.  I wonder what she will pick to wear first?
In full disclosure tonight’s “leftovers” are homemade crab and corn bisque.  Everyone will be going to bed content.
15 thoughts on “School dresses

  1. I love her happy smile! I think she would get on with my daughter, they look of similar personalities. All dresses are beautiful and your leftovers sound delish!

  2. We LOVE leftovers but unfortunately we have a Hugo so they are few and far between.

    Absolutely gorgeous school uniforms. I find myself leaning towards plain beautiful fabrics too, particularly when sewing such divinel patterns.

    Your sewing is so perfect.

    • Ha! I can only imagine…. G eats like a horse, and she is only a six year old girl! It is funny…when I first started sewing I was drawn to all those bold, modern prints you see everywhere. But, now I find there just really isn’t room for many of those in what my kids actually need and wear on a daily basis.

  3. Such sweet little outfits for back-to-school. She’ll be the belle of the classroom!
    School doesn’t begin here until after Labour Day giving us another couple of weeks to complete our BTS sewing!

    • Ha! I was just thinking how I’ll make her a long sleeve view B for winter, but no way am I making another view A until next year! I’m an inconsistent blogger, I think I’ve stopped and started at least three times over the years. But, I do enjoy it. (and how thrilling to have so many comments!)

  4. I love all versions (I ordered the Book Report pattern when I first saw your version a couple of weeks ago on Flickr).
    The Jump rope view A is stunning – I need to make one for my girl when my sewing machine returns from servicing.

    • My machine needs a trip to get cleaned too! I keep doing it myself, so I don’t have to part with it…but don’t feel like it is enough. I hope you enjoy the book report pattern. It is super easy and fast to make, and G seems to wear her ones often. She squeezed herself into one of her size 5s as a tunic today. I need to make her more 6s. I’ve been dreaming of one in a liberty-ish print.

  5. Thank you so much for posting pictures of the dresses! I’m debating whether or not I should purchase some of the Kaufman Interweave Chambray. Do you like this softness of the material, and has it washed well? Where did you get the lilac oxford fabric from? I love that color!

    • I love the interweave, but it honestly feels more like a shirting than a denim chambray. (I’m not sure what you are looking for) It has a bit of a polished sheen that has stayed through the wash. I have it in about 4 other colors in my stash now and they are all very similar in hand and texture. I’d say she’s worn the dress about 4 or 5 times and it still looks like brand new. It is soft, but I wouldn’t call it lightweight….more of a bottomweight. The lilac is this https://www.fabric.com/buy/222947/oxford-shirting-lilac also from Kaufman. It is a bit heavier and more loosely woven than the interweave. It feels very similar to my kid’s ralph lauren oxford button-down shirts. It has only been worn and washed twice but also still looks the same. The lilac was a bugger to gather into the skirt. Happy shopping!

Leave a Reply

