Croquet remix

Ever have one of those projects that you absolutely must tackle before you can move on to the next?  Something about the creative process I guess…

My inner sewing nerd has been racking my brain over the past few months for how to make the croquet dress sleeveless and still get a nice finish on the arms.  Tell me I’m not the only one who thinks about these things during all the mundane daily tasks?  (stuck in traffic, brushing teeth, cooking dinner…)  I love the croquet dress, but am just not a big fan of the sleeves in the pattern.

Well, The other day I shared my conundrum with my almost six year old.  She says, “What about angel sleeves?”  (Is it weird that my six year old knows what angel sleeves are?)  “Of course!”  I say.  “What a fantastic idea!”

Over the next few days, I never could find the time to get it done.  Last night, I broke one of my rules and stayed up ’till midnight sewing a frenzy to get this finished.

And….I’m in love!

DSC_0013I made the Oliver + S croquet dress in a size 6 but cut a size 7 length at the waist and hem.  I did this last year with the sizes 5 and 6 and it worked well.  We like the way it blouses at the waist.  I’m pretty sure this one will be a little big to start, but am hoping for some wear next spring also.

DSC_0012

I used the sleeves from Children’s Corner Hilliary.  I’m not sure I adhered exactly to seam and hem allowances.  I’m only slightly annoyed that I cut one sleeve with a black edge and one with a white.

DSC_0014I used a lightweight, stretch, gingham shirting I picked up on sale (3.59/yard) from fabric.com a while back.   I used some of the neon pink twill tape I bought this summer on vacation in Miami for the tie.  In retrospect, I should have lined the skirt.  I was planning on picking up some neon pink leggings I spied at Walmart last week, but I think they will show through the white squares.  I tried to run my twill tape all the way through the elastic casing.  It showed through as well.  In the end, I just tacked it in place and tied a knot.  I also moved my tie to the center after something I liked on pinterest.

DSC_0016

There was some seam ripper love on the side of the back placket with the button band.  Things are still a little wonky back there, but I’m just glad I got all those little stretchy squares mostly aligned at seams and hems.

G took a peek at it on her way out the door to her FIRST day of school.  She gave it two thumbs up!

Now, what does anyone think about adding this skirt and casing to the oliver + s picnic blouse?  You think you would need some sort of placket or opening to get it on?

13 thoughts on “Croquet remix

  1. Your little girl sounds just like mine 🙂 Funny that they know what works best at such a young age. Your dress looks lovely and the sleeves fit perfectly with the look.

  2. Coincidentally, I’ve been remixing this dress in my head while doing mundane tasks – so you’re not alone doing this sort of daydreaming. Impressed your 6 y/o knows about flutter sleeves ….good to start them early with fashion terms!
    Like the idea of a skirt on the Picnic blouse. Hard to say if it would need a placket given it’s got elastic on neck edge. Making a muslin would answer that question.
    Oh, and nice job matching up all the squares. If you didn’t point out the sleeve edge colours, I wouldn’t have noticed! Pink neon ribbon sure makes it POP – perfect addition!!

  3. You’re absolutely not alone! I woke up pretty early this morning and couldn’t fall back asleep because I kept thinking of how I’m going to redo the Galena bodice.;)lol The dress is so adorable in the black and white gingham with the hot pink tie! And I adore the flutter sleeves.:)

    • Oh, I lay in bed and “sew” way too often. Sometimes I wonder how my friends who have no hobbies and don’t work fill their days. For starters, I think their houses are cleaner than mine!

  4. I love this versions – the added sleeves are fit this style so well!
    Unfortunately, this was the only pattern to date that my daughter refused to wear (so, I’m not quite sure if I will ever do it again). It’s so lovely 🙂

  5. Pingback: Customizing With Oliver + S: Croquet Dress | Blog | Oliver + S

Leave a Reply

